FY 2021 - 2022 Officers

Marlene Sturm, M.D., Chairperson

Email: [email protected]

Marlene A. Sturm, MD has served as the Medical Director at the Children’s Advocacy Center of Santa Clara County since the Center’s opening. Dr. Sturm has been a pediatrician for more than thirty years. She attended Brown University and Stanford Medical School, and completed a residency in Pediatrics at Stanford Hospital. Dr. Sturm has directed the child abuse and protection program at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center since 2017.  Dr. Sturm has served as a member of the Child Abuse Prevention Council since 2017. The  daughter of refugees, Dr Sturm has dedicated her professional life to the care of children and families who have endured and survived great challenges. ​

Linda Hiol, Vice-Chairperson for Administration

Email: [email protected]

Linda Hiol is originally from Cameroon, Africa.  She is the mother of three amazing children and is a social worker at heart. She obtained a Master of Social Work Degree from San Jose State University. Currently, she works as a Psychiatric Social Worker at the County jail.  Before, she was an Emergency Response Social Worker at the Department of Family and Children's Services.  She reports that it was a very rewarding job because it helped to develop a deep appreciation of the many problems the families in Santa Clara County face. She realized that one of the main problems in the child welfare system is the disproportionality of the families caught up in it.  At the core of being a social worker to Linda is being able to be an advocate for the vulnerable.  From her perspective, the most vulnerable people in this county are the children, especially children of color.  It is this deep love for the children of this County that motivated her to join the Child Abuse Prevention Council.

Rocio Abundis, Vice-Chairperson for Programs

Email: [email protected]

Andrew Cain, Treasurer

Email: [email protected]

Andrew Cain is Directing Attorney with Legal Advocates for Children and Youth (LACY), a program of the Law Foundation of Silicon Valley. Mr. Cain served as Chair of the Child Abuse Council from 2015-2017. Other prior roles with the Council include the Vice-Chair of Programs position and chair of various committees and working groups. He served as Chair of the State Bar of California, Family Law Section Executive Committee in 2013-14. Additional volunteer work includes chairing a Domestic Violence Council sponsored group working toward implementing school-based prevention and intervention services and previously chairing the Northern California chapter of the National Association of Counsel for Children’s legislation and policy work. Mr. Cain was recognized by the American Bar Association with its Child Advocacy Award in 2013.

Past Chairpersons

Steven Dick, Chairperson 2019-2021

Stacy Castle, Chairperson 2017 - 2019

Andrew Cain, Chairperson 2015 - 2017

Greg Zieman, Chairperson 2013 - 2015


Committee Chairs

Allocations Committee Chair - Nina Iyengar 

Email: [email protected]

Disproportionality Committee Chair - Peggy Cathcart

Email: [email protected]

Executive Committee Chair - Marlene Sturm, M.D.

Email: [email protected]

Interagency Collaboration Committee Chair - Andrew Cain

Email: [email protected]

Membership Committee Chair - Stacy Castle

Email[email protected]

Public Awareness Committee - Johanna Thai Van Dat

Email: [email protected]

Symposium Committee Chair - James Gibbons-Shapiro

Email: [email protected]

©2023 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.